Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Chrissy27
Casual Contributor

My partner has severe anxiety/panic attacks and I can’t cope anymore. Need advice pls as I feel I’m ready to walk away after 19yrs together

Hi Everyone,

I’ve never done this before and part of me feels guilty like I’ve failed my family especially my 2 beautiful children (11 and 4). 

My partner of 19yrs started having severe panic attacks about 9 months ago and prior to this I had never seen one and it was really scary.  The kids witnessed it and it lasted about 2hrs.  I’m a registered nurse (paediatric) and I kept calm and tried to help him through the hyperventilation, shaking, crying uncontrollably, chest pain, drooling etc. It was horrible and the first of many!  Life has been really challenging since then and even with him seen a psychiatrist privately we are still struggling so much. He has been diagnosed with major depressive disorder/severe anxiety/social anxiety disorder.  

He doesn’t leave the house unless it is absolutely necessary and anything and I mean anything can trigger a panic attack that can last hours.  

I am exhausted and I feel I can’t go on like this anymore and part of me just wants to walk away but our kids love him so much.  

Before all this started he was my rock and the person I turned for anything and his support and love was unconditional.  His values and the ways he views things are amazing.  He has always been an amazing father to our kids and I could never fault him on it.

I miss him so much and so do the kids.